It’s a Meme

I found the following meme-bait on the blog Dawkinswatch, whicg I still suspect is a hoax. Nobody is that ignorant.

Anyway, I thought it would be worth doing for what some internet denizens refer to as ‘the lulz’.

You read the works of Voltaire and became a convert?

Up until this moment, I didn’t even know that Voltaire’s works have anything to do with atheism. So, no.

– You are a secret Luciferian posing as an Atheist.

Is ‘Luciferian’ a word? Regardless, most ‘Satanists’ would probably be quite aghast at posing as an atheist.

– You are a Communist?

Communists can be theists too. And what is it with the weird ‘atheist->liberal->communist’ line of reasoning? Atheists can be conservative, and liberals do not automatically evolve into communists as time goes by.

_ You went to church when you were younger but never experienced God?

Well, yes, but that’s not why I’m an atheist. I went to church and found it alternatively boring or mildly interesting, but I can’t say I ever ‘experienced God’. (Now I’ll generally only go into a church if it’s empty – the intended purpose of those places always makes me feel mildly unsettled, as though I’m watching a particularly odd cult in action.)

– You want to make yourself God and do not like competition?

No. I don’t even know where to start with that one, although it does reveal the curiously common mindset of theists who seem to think that atheists believe what they want to be true, rather than what they think is actually true. There might be a lesson in there, I don’t know.

-You are a postmodernisand you believe that that there is no ultimate truth?

Hahaha, no. I hate postmodernism with a burning passion. (And you don’t have to be ‘a postmodernist’ to think that the concept of truth is meaningless.)

-You read the works of Charles Darwin and are writing manuscripts of the next “My Atheist Struggle”?

I’ve read the works of Charles Darwin, but you may have noticed that he wrote mostly about science rather than religion. “My Atheist Struggle” would be a terrible, terrible name for a book.

– A Catholic Priest made a pass at you and you blame God?

Thankfully that never happened, but even if it had, why would I blame God for that? Because he didn’t strike the priest down where he stood? (It’s interesting that this one specifically mentions a Catholic priest.)

– You are secretly in love with Richard Dawkins and have not told your parents that you are not like other men?

Richard Dawkins is sex on legs.

All right, all right, that’s an exaggeration. The man is a fantastic science writer, perhaps less fantastic as a commentator on religion/philosophy, and deserves his place as a part of the atheist ‘canon’. But I don’t worship him, and I’m certainly not in love with him.

– You are not convinced evil exists.

Actually, that’s a view more usually associated with the theodicies undermining the problem of evil – an argument against God’s existence, and one which I happen to find quite good.

_ You believe the ten commandments are harmful to the well being of human kind.

No, but I would say that many of them aren’t particularly important as far as moral edicts go. The ones that are good, while representing an admirable inclusion in any religion, are certainly not unique to Christianity.

_ You are following a trend?

Technically, yes, I am, in the sense that I became an atheist during a ‘boom’ in non-belief. But that’s not why I became an atheist – correlation, not causation.

1 Response to “It’s a Meme”


  1. 1 Sisyphus Fragment January 20, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    It looks like a Poe.. but I doubt it. Some people really are that stupid.


Leave a Reply

