A Humorous Exchange

I recently had a rather humorous ‘discussion’ in the comments section of this post, in which Ray Boltz is given a hard time for not repressing his sexuality like a good Christian. I took issue with the assertion that homosexuality is equivalent to paedophilia, which appears at the very bottom of the post:

Its sure to be a hit with the gay christian crowd. Maybe christian pedophiles will help make the song a cult favorite because after all that’s their argument too.

After wading through several comments which described Boltz’s song as ‘nauseating’ (one commentor, Liz,  claimed to have ‘thrown up in her mouth’ after reading the post), I reacted in a way that I feel is perfectly respectable and non-confrontatonial:

And you really don’t see any difference between the two situations? Are you actually that stupid?

All right, all right, I called ‘gcmwatch’ stupid. I can’t help it – sycophantic prostration in front of a book just irks me, particularly when the people doing it are clearly intelligent enough to make their own choices in life. Anyway, our little exhcnage elicited the following gem from ‘Kathy’:

Augustine, I think the point of bringing up “christian pedophiles” is to show that there isn’t really such a thing, just as there really aren’t “christian homosexuals” — because both are living in such a sinful lifestyle that their actions prove that they are not Christians, despite their words. The NT is replete with examples of people who say one thing and do another: “Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Thy name…?… and I will say, Depart from me, you who work iniquity.”

The term “Christian homosexual” is an oxymoron, much like “Christian pedophile” or “Christian murderer” or “Christian rapist” or “Christian thief.” While everyone sins, Christians included, to make a lifetime habit of sin, such as living in a homosexual lifestyle, or certain very gross point-action sins, such as murder or rape, is to prove yourself not to be a Christian at all, and still very needy of repentance and the work of the Spirit in your heart and life: “Such were some of you, but you were washed…”

I’ve got Bible verses to back up what I believe, and you have… manmade theories and willful sin to blind you. I’d be very uncomfortable right now, if I were you.

I actually laughed at the last sentence, although the rest is certainly humorous as well. After trying to explain the difference between a homosexual and a rapist, I pointed out that there many, many Christian homosexuals (‘ex-gays’ who are still very much attracted to people of the same sex – one does not need to have sex to be a homosexual). The only person who directly replied to this told me to ‘go try my psychology (?) somewhere else because it’s not working here. LOL!!!!!!!!’ I’m not sure when psychology came into the picture, although I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that some of gcmwatch’s fans would be unable to tell the difference between science and internet squabbling – hey, maybe they’re Creationists?

3 Responses to “A Humorous Exchange”


  1. 1 gcmwatch January 13, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    You spelled humorous wrong. And gee, its really lonely over here. I thought you said this post was going to light a fire under this blog. Maybe everyone is waiting for something else really humerous.

  2. 2 augustine January 13, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Ah, my mistake. This could serve as an important lesson: having had something stupid I did pointed out to me, I shall now go and change it. I would advise you to do the same, but it would mean deleting your entire blog.

  3. 3 Zack January 13, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    It’s more like we laugh quietly to ourselves.


Leave a Reply

